North America, the planet's 3rd largest continent, includes (23) countries and dozens of small island possesions and territories - mostly in the Caribbean. It contains all Caribbean and Central America countries, Canada, Mexico and the United States of America - three of the largest countries on the planet, as well as Greenland - the world's largest island.