South east Asia is a subregion of Asia, consisting of the countries that are geographically south of China, east of India and north of Australia. The region lies on the intersection of geological plates, with heavy seismic and volcanic activity.

Southeast Asia consists of two geographic regions: the Asian mainland, and island arcs and archipelagoes to the east and southeast. The mainland section consists of Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam and Malaysia (or to be more precise, Peninsular Malaysia).

The maritime section consists of Brunei, East Timor, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Singapore. Some definitions include Taiwan at the north. Austronesian peoples predominate in this region; the dominant religions are Islam followed closely by Christianity.

Southeast Asia is geographically divided into two regions, namely Mainland Southeast Asia and the Maritime Southeast Asia.

Mainland Southeast Asia includes:

  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Maritime Southeast Asia includes:

  • Brunei
  • East Timor
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • Singapore